Add to My Yahoo!


Add to Google

Subscribe in NewsGator Online

Subscribe in Bloglines


More All Sports Articles

You Twit: NBA Players Make MLB Look Anti-Social

4th November 2009

Twitter can be both good and bad for businesses, and sports is no different. Athletes having an unfiltered line to millions of fans, media, and yes, their respective clubs, can have unexpected consequences.

But, Twitter is here to stay, and is being embraced in a big way by athletes from all leagues… just some more than others.

Case in point, MLB vs. NBA players. Below is a definitive list of verified MLB players, courtesy of the @MLB blog:

Player Twitter Account Club
Jeremy Affeldt @JeremyAffeldt Giants
Coco Crisp @coco_crisp Royals
Carlos Delgado @carlosdelgado21 Mets
Chad Durbin @ShowcaseU Phillies
Curtis Granderson @detroit_tigers Tigers
Jason Grilli @GrillCheese49 TBD
Blake Hawksworth @BlakeHawksworth Cardinals
Dirk Hayhurst @TheGarfoose Blue Jays
Orlando Hudson @orlandohudson Dodgers
Matt Kemp @mattkemp27 Dodgers
Matt LaPorta @Gator4God Indians
Seth McClung @73_MC Brewers
Jamie Moyer @moyerfoundation Phillies
Joe Nathan @JoeNathan36 Twins
David Ortiz @davidortiz Red Sox
Roy Oswalt @royoswalt44net Astros
Ryan Rowland-Smith @hyphen18 Mariners
CC Sabathia @cc_sabathia Yankees
Joakim Soria @joakimsoria Royals
Nick Swisher @nickswisher Yankees
Mark Teahen @ESPY_TEAHEN Royals
Rich Thompson @chopper63 Angels
Todd Wellemeyer @todalion Cardinals
C.J. Wilson @str8edgeracer Rangers

Also, the Reds’ Chris Dickerson co-founded @weplaygreen.

Conversely, the NBA has so many players using the micro-blogging, social network site that a comprehensive study has been released of 130 players on Twitter by Sysomos.

Key notes of the massive study:

  • The most popular NBA players (having the most followers on Twitter) are the Cleveland Cavaliers’ Shaquille O’Neal, followed by the Boston Celtics’ Paul Pierce and the Orlando Magic’s Dwight Howard
  • The most active NBA players (having the most NBA friends) is the Phoenix Suns’ Jason Richardson, followed by the Milwaukee Bucks’ Andrew Bogut and the San Antonio Spurs’ Roger Mason Jr.
  • The most active NBA player on Twitter (average number of tweets per day) is the Boston Celtics’ Marquis Daniels, followed by the Toronto Raptors’ Reggie Evans and the Washington Wizards’ Fabricio Oberto
  • The most “dense” team (players following their teammates) is the Philadelphia 76ers
  • The most “NBA social” team (players following players on other teams) is the Detroit Pistons
  • The most popular team on NBA (having the most NBA followers from other teams) is the Cleveland Cavaliers
  • The most “Twitter social” team (players following the most people on Twitter) is the Chicago Bulls
  • The most popular team on Twitter (in terms of its players being followed by the most people on Twitter) is Cleveland Cavaliers, not surprising given the Cavs’ players include superstars LeBron James and Shaquille O’Neal

Select the image below to see how NBA players on Twitter connect:

So, MLB, you may have us enthralled this 2009 World Series, but when it comes to being social on Twitter, well… you’re small fry compared to the NBA

Maury BrownMaury Brown is the Founder and President of the Business of Sports Network, which includes The Biz of Baseball, The Biz of Football, The Biz of Basketball and The Biz of Hockey. He is available for hire or freelance. Brown’s full bio is here. He looks forward to your comments via email and can be contacted through the Business of Sports Network.

Follow Maury Brown on Twitter Twitter

Comments are closed.